Akkineni Lakshmi Vara Prasada Rao popularly known as L. V. Prasad was an Indian film producer,director,Studio Owner and actor born on 17th January 1908 in an agricultural family. He was not interested in studies and came to film industry, where he faced several obstacles.

He spent many days even without food. Later on, he got a chance to act in a silent film, Star of the East, which was never released. He worked as an Assistant director, Director and Producer for many films. He also acted in great films like Bhaktha Prahaladha.

Awards won:

  1. He was honoured by the Andhra Pradesh Government with the ‘RAGHUPATHI VENKAYYA AWARD’ for the year 1980.
  2. He was a recipient of the prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Award for lifetime contribution to cinema from the Government of India for the year 1982.
  3. The L V Prasad Eye Institute and Prasads IMAX in Hyderabad are a part of L. V. Prasad group.
  4. ‘ANDHRA RATNA’ award was conferred on L.V.Prasad by Andhra Pradesh KALAVEDIKA on 27 March 1987 at Hyderabad.
  5. He received the ‘RAMNATH AWARD-82’ by the Cine Technicians’ Association of South India on 5 June 1982.
  6. He was given ‘KALAATAPASVI’ award by Telugu cinema weekly magazine ‘SITARA’ on 13 March 1983 at Hyderabad.
  7. Kala Prapoorna award was conferred on him by Chancellor, Andhra University at Waltair on 21 December 1985.
  8. ‘ANDHRA RATNA’ award was conferred on L.V.Prasad by Andhra Pradesh KALAVEDIKA on 27 March 1987 at Hyderabad.
  9. The Government of India released a Commemorative postage stamp in his memory in 2006.
  10. He also donated acres of Land to the nongovernmental Eye Hospital named after him as L V Prasad Eye Institute, in posh area of Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh.

 L V Prasad Filmography:

Movies acted:

  • Bhakta Prahlada – First Telugu Talkie (1931)
  • Bondam Pelli (1940)
  • Chaduvukunna Bharya (1940)

Assistant Director and Actor:

  • Tenali Ramakrishna (1941)
  • Gharana Dhonga (1942)

Actor and Director:

  • Gruha Pravesham (1946)
  • Palnati Yudham (1947)
  • Drohi (1948)
  • Pempudu Koduku (1953)


  • Manadesam (1949)
  • Shavukar (1950)
  • Samsaram (1950)
  • Pelli Chesi Choodu (1952)
  • Paradesi (1953)
  • Manohara (1954)
  • Missamma (1955)
  • Appu Chesi Pappu Koodu (1958)


  • Ilavelpu (1956)
  • Illalu (1965)

He died at the age of 86 on 22nd June 1994. Today is his 104th Birth Anniversary. Business of Tollywood remembers this legend on this auspicious day.